Auld Lang Syne

So in an attempt to recover what’s left of my sanity reflect on the last 12 months and blog more regularly, I’ve decided to join #WEverb 12. I’m sure the writing will be very different that using the prompts that my middle school Language Arts teacher used to provide us.

Or at least I hope it will be. I’m still holding out some sort of dream that I have the Great American Novel a book somewhere in me.

At any rate, since today is the 2nd already (Seriously?! December 2nd?! And it’s 62* and sunny in Chicago. People are putting up Christmas decorations in shorts and t-shirts. Really.), today is a two-fer on the writing prompts.

If you’re a blogger (or not, #weverb12 says you can even use a crumpled piece of paper in your cubicle to participate!), be sure to link up and reflect with the rest of us who may or may not have used writing prompts since 6th grade.

December 1st–compose [CREATE]: Write a haiku for 2012.

Uhm…again, I’ve not written a haiku since, well, this might be more recent (relatively speaking), as I think I had to write haikus in my high school creative writing class. I’ll confess I did have to look up the syllabic configuration.

Three lines, 5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables, if anyone’s curious.

So here goes…a haiku for 2012.

Twenty-Twelve, a good year.

But the days passed too quickly.

The boys grew like weeds.

Yeah, I’m not gonna win any poetry contests.

December 2nd–watch [LIVE]: What movie did you see this year that you would recommend to a friend?

Really? A movie? I have three boys, and Little Darth is 2. I value the opinion of the other moviegoers my sanity way too much to brave a theatre with a  toddler. And when we do watch movies at home, I rarely see the entire thing. Too many “mommy distractions”.

That being said, I did manage to watch “Brave” with The Manimal during the Thanksgiving Holiday. It was classic Disney/Pixar, and VERY well done. Loved everything about it, especially since I’m sure I was Irish in another lifetime have this thing for Irish folklore. And now all of my children want to learn archery.

It’s the type of movie I’d probably go to a theatre by myself and watch.

Oh, who am I kidding? If I had two or three hours by myself, it would likely signify the end of the world, and I’d want to do something way more fulfilling than see a movie.

Like sleep.

See you tomorrow for some more reflection with #weverb12. The theme for December 3rd is “stay [LISTEN]”. Ironically, I’m pretty familiar with both of those words, having used them approximately forty-seven-eleven times every day this year with either a boy child or Princess, The Wonder Dog.

Leave a Reply

