Oldies Station

I remember as a kid listening to the “oldies” station on the radio in the car. At the time “oldies” was music from the 50s and 60s–music from my parents’ generation. I enjoyed the music, but preferred my own, of course.

With satellite radio in my car, I can listen to just about any kind of music or talk radio. When my kiddos are in the car, the dial is usually set to Radio Disney or Kids Place Live. I have been known to subject my children to the “80s on 8” channel from time to time. Unfortunately for me, this typically only lasts about 10 minutes before the kids can’t stand it anymore and The Tweenager asks to change to Radio Disney.

Earlier this week I was singing out loud in the car (trying with no avail to embarrass The Tweenager). I was singing the Robert Palmer hit from my generation “Doctor, Doctor”.

As I belted out “Doctor, Doctor, give me the news! I’ve got a bad case of…”, my Tweenager  looked at me with that look that says “I’m rolling my eyes at you in my head”, and completed the line with “a bone fracture?”

I wonder if Robert Palmer’s children rolled their eyes when he sang in the car.

Leave a Reply

