Word Up!

The Manimal and I were talking a few weeks ago, and he said something had a “stench”. While he is very well-spoken for a kid his age, that word surprised me. I asked him if he knew what it meant, and he said “a strong and disgusting smell”.

My jaw dropped.

After I recovered my power of speech, I asked where he learned that. He responded “Word Girl!”

For those of you not familiar with this PBS Kids show, it teaches kids the definitions of various words. What surprised me was his rote memorization and application of the word.

Oh, who am I kidding? What surprised me was that he actually absorbed something from a show without Darth Vader, Clone Troopers or Storm Troopers.

Anyway, while The Manimal has been busy learning new words, I finally decided on my word for 2011.

I’ve been wanting to do this, have been thinking about it since before Little Darth was born. I’ve noticed over the past few years that a lot of bloggers choose a word by which they try and live their year. I like that idea.

And so, here it is.

ENTHUSIASM

From Merriam-Webster Online:

1
a : belief in special revelations of the Holy Spirit b : religious fanaticism
2
a : strong excitement of feeling : ardor <did her work with energy and enthusiasm> b : something inspiring zeal or fervor <his enthusiasms include sailing and fishing>
But my favorite part of the word ENTHUSIASM is actually the origin:
 

Greek enthousiasmos, from enthousiazein to be inspired, irregular from entheos inspired, from en- + theos god
Enthusiasm. En Theos. In God.
Love it. Doing everything in God.
With enthusiasm.
What’s your word?
Leave a Reply

