Bookworm

I love to read. As long as I can remember, I’ve had 2 or 3 books going at the same time. I read pretty quickly, and love to reread old favorites.

My mom taught me how to read before I was in kindergarten. When I was a child, my grandpa was a library janitor. I thought he had the coolest job ever. His “office” (really just an oversized janitor’s closet–in the truest sense of the phrase) was in the basement of the beautiful old Carnegie Library building.

Right next to the children’s section.

I can remember spending time with him at the library, reading all kinds of books. I was in heaven, with one of my favorite people in the world and in one of my favorite places in the world.

Occasionally, he would bring home books that the library had discarded. For a while, I thought all children’s books came with that indestructible library binding.

When e-readers started to become popular, I swore I’d never own one. There was something magical about curling up with a good book. I read every night before I go to bed and I couldn’t imagine reading an electronic device instead of a favorite paperback. On top of that, I figured I’d have to spend a fortune on e-books.

Then I got a Kindle.

I started using Swagbucks and before I knew it, with the help of a birthday gift certificate from a dear friend, a MyPoints gift certificate and my Swagbucks rewards, I was just $40 shy of a new Kindle. I did a bit of research and discovered that there were free and reasonably priced options and decided to splurge.

Wow.

I’m in book heaven again. Kindle offers so many free options, both public domain offerings and limited time promotional opportunities. Within a month, I had almost a hundred books on my Kindle, and I’d only paid for one of them! Now Kindle has introduced the lending feature…just like the library! 🙂

And the best part is that I can take my library with me. On the plane, waiting in line, at the doctor’s office, I’m never without a book. I haven’t downloaded any children’s books yet, but I could even read to the littles while we’re waiting.

The old-fashioned bookworm has turned into a high-tech butterfly!

Cheers!

One thought on “Bookworm

  1. Love my kindle. I also like that you can get a preview sent to you. You can check out the book before you commit to buy. Nothing worse than paying for a book and not liking it!

Leave a Reply

