I Am

Found on many blogs, Mrs. Decker’s among them.

***

I am from books and potato fields, wallpaper paste and Norwegian painting.

I am from base housing and farmhouses, brick homes on the Cape and brick homes in subdivisions.

I am from the peonies and bird houses, hostas, roses and pine strewn forests.

I am from creamed herring on New Year’s, octegenarian and nonegenarian women, from Hilja and Tuulikki, Alvin and Eugene, Justina and Sylvia.

I am from stubbornness and short legs.

From quiet Finns and sitting in the garage watching the thunderstorms.

I am from Schubert’s “Ave Maria” and “Yes, Sister Mary Heliadora”, May Crownings and “Remember, O Most Gracious Virgin Mary”.

I am from Wisconsin and Germany, Bohemia and Finland, Switzerland and Minnesota, from pulla and kolaches.

From the saunas of Ely, Minnesota and the pride of the U.S. Air Force.

I am from painters and nurses, teachers and factory workers, and and a library janitor smarter than all of us put together.

I am from letters to a young mother from a father in Alaska and photos sent to proud family members hundreds of miles away, unconditional love and a German Mother’s Medal stolen from the Nazis by my Great-Uncle during WWII.

I am love and life, music and silence, joys and sorrows, friendship and passion.

And me.

***

I am from _______ (specific ordinary item), from _______ (product name) and _______.
I am from the _______ (home description… adjective, adjective, sensory detail).
I am from the _______ (plant, flower, natural item), the _______ (plant, flower, natural detail)
I am from _______ (family tradition) and _______ (family trait), from _______ (name of family member) and _______ (another family name) and _______ (family name).
I am from the _______ (description of family tendency) and _______ (another one).From _______ (something you were told as a child) and _______ (another).
I am from (representation of religion, or lack of it).
Further description.I’m from _______ (place of birth and family ancestry), _______ (two food items representing your family).From the _______ (specific family story about a specific person and detail), the _______ (another detail, and the _______ (another detail about another family member).
I am from _______ (location of family pictures, mementos, archives and several more lines indicating their worth).

Don’t worry about following form exactly. Can’t wait to read everyone’s!

Who are you?

One thought on “I Am

Leave a Reply

